Mr. Johnson

Today I sat and talked with Mr. Johnson, a 70 plus year old man here at my school. He comes to the Student Services Center for reading help after an eye surgery. We always share stories of life and wisdom before I academically help him. Today, at the end of our session, I said: Mr. Johnson, you always leave me with a great wealth of wisdom. He said to me, “You’ve got that wrong. I learn from you. That’s why I come, it’s not all academic.” I could have cried. He was letting me know that out of the mouths of babes, he can still learn about life, and the whys of it. To GOD be all the glory. HE still sees fit to use me, a mere mortal.
-Shavonne T. Harris

Leave a Reply

